The Press Council of India was first constituted on 4th July 1966 as an autonomous, statutory, quasi-judicial body, with Shri Justice J R Mudholkar, then a Judge of the Supreme Court, as Chairman.

In 1956, the first Press Commission had concluded that the best way to maintain professional ethics in journalism can be achieved by creating a statutory authority body consisting of people mainly connected with the industry and can arbitrate the activities. This led to the birth of the Press Council of India in 1966.

Today on National press day in Delhi chairman’s of Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar and Bangladesh press council gathered along with foreign delegates. Mr Raza Rizvi, member of Indian Press Council is seen with him in the picture.

Central Minister Shri Prakash Javedkar also invited chairman and all the members and foreign delegates over dinner. Chairman of Press Council  of India Justice Shri Chandramauli Kumar Prasad  was also present there on that occasion.